Ladies! A Picture Tutorial: How To Get A Lot of Hair Under A Tiny Starched Cap!

Okay so this one is for the ladies out there! When a person learns that you are a Mennonite or Amish for the first time, one of the most common questions (aside from: “Did you come here in a buggy?” and “They let you work?”) I get is people asking how long my hair is. As a Mennonite, I don’t believe in cutting my hair, so it is rather long. They are always so shocked that I manage to get so much hair under my tiny starched caps, so without further ado, I decided to do a picture tutorial on how I manage it myself. Whether you are considering going Plain, already are and just need an amusement or looking for something different to do with your own flowing locks, give it a try and see what works for you!

How To Get It All Under Control….

wpid-IMG_20140319_103014.jpg

Okay, first you’ll brush your hair and pull it into a ponytail. I always start at my ends first and, if I’m wearing the white starched cap in this tutorial, I go with a higher ponytail. If I’m wearing an unstarched bonnet, I make my bun lower. It’s always better to avoid putting your ponytail in the same place all the time because it can increase the chances of breakage. When you don’t cut your hair, it’s prudent to take good care of it. God only gives us one natural covering, after all! 🙂

wpid-IMG_20140319_103048.jpg

Next, you will braid the ponytail. I do this because I feel like, in a braid, my hair gets damaged less. It also helps the hair stay in better than just wrapping the unbraided ponytail into a bun. This is also my sister’s fancy bathroom. I love her shower curtain. 😛

wpid-IMG_20140319_103116.jpg

When I finish the braid, I like to put a little olive oil on the ends to help strengthen them. At first, I was using Aussie Leave-In Conditioner but I really feel like the olive oil works much better. Just make sure you don’t use too much or it will make your hair oily!

wpid-IMG_20140319_103133.jpgwpid-IMG_20140319_103202.jpg

Next, you will wrap the braid around the base of the ponytail into a bun and pin the end with a bobby pin. This day in particular, I had to use two pins because my hair was being exceptionally difficult.

wpid-IMG_20140319_103345.jpgThis is the net I use. In reality, it is a lace headband that I cover with in the privacy of my bedroom after I shower so my hair can dry but still be covered in some way. Most ladies wrap a regular hair net or bun cover around it, but I like having a dual use for this one.

wpid-IMG_20140319_103403.jpgYou will wrap the net, whichever type you are using, around the bun which secures it and will keep the hair in place. As you can see in the picture, the end of the braid where I pinned it back is not covered which is fine because the cap will cover it anyways.

wpid-IMG_20140319_103441.jpgYou’ll put your cap on over the lot of it and secure it with pins. I use bobby pins but you can use a clip beneath the brim of the cap and then use a pin to attach through to the clip which can secure it. I never liked doing it that way, just because it makes me feel like a stiff wind will blow it right off but another option is getting or painting clips the same color as your cap which will make the clips less obvious.

wpid-IMG_20140319_103547.jpgAnd, at last, the end result! Finally!

I hope some of you find this tutorial helpful! It’s the first time I’ve ever done one so if you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

