Bright, Shiny New Pennies

sunA shiny new penny always makes me feel a little joyful. It reminds me of, not just one thing but many. Little suns on a bright day, pirate treasure, and the color yellow. Not neon yellow or an overwhelming shade but the color that comes to mind when you’re standing in a warm patch of sunshine. They remind me of smiles and laughter. That’s why, when I’m having a long, hard, terrible, no good day at work, and I’m staring down at that register, wondering what I’m doing with my life, I see those pennies and they always ease my mind a little. They put me in happy place head space. They’re like snow, though. The moment you touch them, the oils from our skin begin to tarnish them and eventually those tiny little suns will begin to darken and set.

Leave a Reply

